How long are your training sessions? and Heeling. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 02:38 AM Thread Starter
Master Member

How long are your training sessions? and Heeling.

I went for my first training session with my trainer last weekend. It's not a class, just one on one at her home. I really didn't know what to expect being that it's my first time doing this.

She stated because my dog knows most of the basic commands already, we'll work on a proper heel. The trainer said the ideal positioning for your dog should be on your left side. Her story was that in the military, you held your gun with your right and your dog on the left. Made sense i guess... Since Abby was a pup, she's been on my right but the trainer said it's fine. I've started walking Abby on the left from that point on.

The entire training period started from 8:00 am to 10:00 am and she advised me to train Abby atleast 10 to 15 minutes a day with what we went over. How long are your sessions with the trainer and what about when it's DIY?

Another question I had, the trainer's method of introducing the heel was using the commands of "Look/focus", "walk/let's go", and calling their name. Abby failed miserably on the look and calling her name, though I do practice it at home. Because she failed, the trainer told me to get a high value treat (hot dog) and place it in front of Abby's muzzle/nose and start walking but at the same time, hold her muzzle from underneath to keep Abby in the proper place. We took one step and treated. Then after a few rounds, 3 steps and treat... What do you think about this method?

Abby - Jan. 1, 2011 to Dec. 27, 2013
Bandit - Sept. 17, 2012
Rogue - Feb. 14, 2014
"A tired dog is a happy one
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 03:45 AM