How do I socialize a wary dog - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

How do I socialize a wary dog

I am new to this form so forgive me if someone has asked a similar question.

Zeeva (my GSD) is very wary of strangers and other dogs. I can't take her to the dog park as she hides behind me the entire time and ignores the other dogs. I have taken her to puppy classes at petsmart (was unimpressed by these). She socialized with the group but classroom settings don't always translate to real world settings.

Anyway, any suggestions would help.

Also, off topic but I have a husky who also has difficulty socializing with other dogs as he will become standoffish and seemingly ready to start a fight.

I keep both my dogs away from other dogs because I don't want a fight to break out. But this is not how I want them to live their lives...

As I said, any suggestions would help.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 11:13 AM

I am not very experienced with your situation but I would start by stepping up the training, ideally privately with someone who knows the breeds. Aside from training, make sure they are both getting the individual attention, exercise (these are two VERY active breeds),and mental stimulation they require. I wouldn't worry about the dog park for now. I would try to get them to a happier, more confident place, then work on socialization. Good luck, you will get there!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 11:14 AM
Crowned Member

LAT (look at that) and lots of positive reinforcement for any initiative to be friendly.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 11:32 AM
Crowned Member