Ignoring aggressive dogs - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 02:54 PM Thread Starter

Ignoring aggressive dogs

I'll keep it short n' sweet.

Post your experience with having your dog ignore other dogs acting aggressive to it.

Example for what I am trying to accomplish: If another dog is acting aggressive or barking at my 9mo puppy, I want her to stay focused on me when I ask. I don't want her lunging and barking back (which is what she is currently doing). She does not do this with benign other dogs, but she goes nuts if they are acting aggressively at her. I can understand where she is coming from, but I don't want her acting like that.

I need a good review of LAT too!

**I would like to stay without using a prong as much as I can.
Nothing against them but I would like to see if this can be accomplished without one. That, and they are 20 freakin dollars (I'm a college student, lol)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 03:01 PM
Crowned Member

I tell Jax "Leave it". She might still keep an eye on them but it's not a focused watch and she mostly watches me. Definitely work on LAT but start with dogs that are well behaved.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 03:07 PM
Master Member

With Abbie, I started by keeping her moving and focused on a treat. At first I would keep as much distance as possible. If she stayed focused on me and did not respond she would get several treats and praise, if she responded to their provocations she got a verbal reprimand and no treat. We mostly worked on this by walking past fences with barking dogs in our neighborhood.

Rob

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Princess Abigail "Abbie"
Kai (RIP)
Loki (RIP)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 03:11 PM
Crowned Member