Is this desired in PPD? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
DTS
Master Member

Is this desired in PPD?

this guy "trains" PPD in my area. im far from an expert on this, but was looking at his webiste because he advertises in the paper and on a free ad website (which to me is a red flag). i want to put some videos up of him with some of the dogs he is training. and from my view point he trains some the dog in some situations to attack without command. In this situations on these videos okay to do this? like i said i am no expert but i was very turned off by these videos? is any of these methods accurate? and in some of the videos if you turn the volume way up you can here the handler call the dog off and the dog doesn't imediately come off..
can some one direct me what is wrong and or right in these videos?
http://youtu.be/uJy4Z-PuyI0

http://youtu.be/EOAQTobjzrM

http://youtu.be/71NUDnHb1hI

http://youtu.be/EvLWPWu0ILY
in this last video this is a pup being trained

any thoughts or comments?

Last edited by DTS; 10-09-2011 at 11:40 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 05:22 PM

I don't agree with the actions of the dog in the second video (the guy charging yelling) unless the handler told the dog to bite. The other videos are exactly as we teach some PSD's In my program, the basic rule is; the dog can only bite on two occasions;

1. When the handler commands the dog to engage

2. When the handler is attacked.

Other than that, the dog, while certainly being more attentive to a situation should not engage. It's often questionable how a dog will react to a situation in the 2nd video, where a person approaches threatening etc. As for the agitation of the pup, I don't see anything particularly wrong. There wasn't any pressure and it appeared to be a puppy sleeve.

DFrost
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 08:31 PM
Crowned Member