crying in the crate - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 07:23 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation crying in the crate

Okay, so I have had my GSD since Wednesday of last week. She turned 8 weeks old on Monday. I am doing really well with house breaking her, however I have tried all the methods of making her crate a pleasant place for night time. I have tried putting something with my scent in her crate, playing soft music, laying in the room until she calms down and even feed her meals in the crate but she is still crying and whining every night. I go and get her to take her out and take her straight back in to go back to bed. I dont know what else to do, I have tried every option that I know of so if anyone has any advice for getting her to sleep in her crate without throwing a temper tantrum. This is my first large dog so I am new to this, any advice will be appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 07:28 PM
Crowned Member

Send a message via Yahoo to DCluver33
personally I'd let her cry then let her out when she's quiet. if you let her out while she's crying it could make her learn that crying gets her out and that's not good. make it a fun place to be in, play games near it, throw a toy in and let her come out, throw treats in. She's a puppy she's going to cry, give her time and make it fun and she'll soon learn that her crate is a fun place to be good luck!!!

ETA: move her crate down with you and leave the door open so she can go in and out as she pleases. When she goes in on her own praise and treat her.

~Steph~

Dodger 5 yr old GSD (6/23/08)
Molly 14 yr old Border Collie/Aussie Mix (7/4/98)

RIP my Angel:
Chopper 17 yr old Border Collie (10/1/94-12/30/10)
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 07:38 PM
Master Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taylor.Watson View Post