Prong Collars - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 58 (permalink) Old 02-23-2011, 10:17 AM Thread Starter

Prong Collars

I'm sure their are already numerous threads on this... but I really don't have time to actively scan the site--so, I'll ask anyway.

I am trying to train my pup to walk better on a leash. What's your take on prong collars? My trainer suggested I buy one.. but, is it cruel? Also, what size do I get? He's nine months and 83lbs. I'm really new to all this... and I don't want to mistreat my pup.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! THank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 58 (permalink) Old 02-23-2011, 10:21 AM
Crowned Member

I use prong collars with dogs that pull. They're like power steering for dogs. It's kind of a band-aid solution while you work on the pulling with your trainer, but for walking the dog while you're fixing the cause of the pulling, a prong can't be beat.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- 6 years

At the Bridge:
Cash Adopted 2007 - 7/28/2010
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rocky 4/19/2002 - 1/16/2015 to DM
post #3 of 58 (permalink) Old 02-23-2011, 10:23 AM

I use a prong collar on a regular basis with my 2.5 year old Millie. It works very well with her. I was very hesitant to use it at first but at recommendation from a friend we gave it a try. If you compare it to a choke collar it is actually a much better tool. With the choke collar you have a lot of sleck and risk injurying your dog/pup when trying to correct them. They only way to control them is to choke them.