Hondo's attraction to Welding Gloves - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 09:58 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Hondo's attraction to Welding Gloves

Hondo has very little drive to play tug. He just never has. Saturday, I had on a pair of welding gloves, helping hubby. When we were finished, I started playing with Hondo with the gloves on. Hondo latched on the gloves and would tug hard enough that it knocked me over. He NEVER has applied any true tug pressure before. He'd just simply release and wait for me to throw it.

When I'd release the glove to him, he'd drop it on the ground and wait for me to put it back on. This is so very unlike Hondo at all. I even bought a hand puppet once that had a squeaky in it to try to interest him in playing tug, and he just couldn't care any less.

What could it be about the welding gloves that turns him on so much? He shows no interest in any other gloves, I wear riding gloves all the time.

Is this a dangerous 'game' to play? I had him chasing me and leaping for the gloves. He won't even do that for a ball. This is so out of charector for him.

Hondo Von Dopplet L Bauernhof "Hondo"- GSD
Lilie's Tug McGraw "Tug" - Golden Retriever
Maggie - Mini Dachshund (Rescue)
Lonestar Pivo - Texas Blue Lacy
Ashe - Barn Cat
Katie / APHA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:02 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to crewchief_chick
have you ever played with him with the welding gloves before? handled any other form of material, animal stuff, anything like that?

Could be a smell or a taste clinging to the leather that he's goin bonkers after....or he likes the feeling of whatever they are made out of it.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by crewchief_chick View Post