What drives your dog? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 04:26 PM Thread Starter

What drives your dog?

My Schindler boy is not food driven. I have tried a few different kinds of treats and he just doesnt care about them. I mean he will eat them, but it they don't motivate him. Even the trainer couldnt believe his lack of response for treats. What drives your dog? I'm not sure what else to try....I'm new to GSD's....Help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 04:31 PM
Knighted Member

a favorite toy? I have a few special toys that we only use for training (the are put away) and his reward becomes a few seconds playing tug etc. He seems to LOVE to train when he knows I pull out the special toys. Also make sure he is HUNGRY when you are using food. If I work with Jake it's before a meal. I learned that the hard way. (sigh)
If your dog is hungry they will show an interest. Also what are you using for training treats? Cheese, hotdogs, Nb rolls, cheerios? Keep the food reward high value, not something he gets all the time.

Renee'

Jake 2/12/10 CGC TDI
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 04:36 PM
Crowned Member

Frisbee when outside and her ruffwear egg when inside. She is very much not food driven. However, my trainer does believe we can build her food drive up to her toy drive.

Have you tried a tug with him? You really don't want anything you have to throw away from you when first starting.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeandrenee View Post