Gentle leader vs. Halti? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 12:01 PM Thread Starter

Gentle leader vs. Halti?

I recently had a trainer recommend a gentle leader for my GSD. I went to the store this morning to find numerous different makes and models. Is there a difference? What should I use? I am new to using this training tool, so I thought maybe some people with more experience could give me some ideas.
Thanks,
Karen NE. PA

Boomer-10yr. old lab/shep mix
Cody-3 yr.old GSD
Princess-3 year old ?mix
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 12:08 PM
Knighted Member

Re: Gentle leader vs. Halti?

I would use the Easy Walk Harness instead (made by the same company as Gentle Leader). I'm not a fan of the head halter type collars as they can cause injury if your dog sees something and tries to take off... also most dogs HATE them! The Easy Walk Harness works just as well

http://www.premier.com/View.aspx?pag...uctdescription
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 12:08 PM
Elite Member

We have not used any head harnesses so I can't help you with those. We do use the Easy Walk by Gentle Leader and we think they are great. I like the fact that the control point is in front of the chest, not the neck or head. The dogs do respond to them and even if they are in high prey drive (passing squirrel?), they can be controlled.

Clover - GSD 9 yr old Rescue
R.I.P. Spats, Sophie, Emmie, Pooh Bear, Rogue, Max and Patton

Remember, if someone has a problem with you.........it is in fact their problem.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-19-2009, 12:09 PM
Crowned Member

IMO, and not trying to be rude................. but I think that all those so called "gentle leader" type leads are just a lazy way of getting out of real dog training!

A properly trained dog, yes EVEN A GSD, can walk with out pulling on a regular leash!!!!