maybe should I try a new training approach?? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

maybe should I try a new training approach??

Now here is my situation. I dont claim to be an expert trainer but I am not a novice either.
They way we have trained all our dogs by personal one on one training with professional trainers and then after the one on one training with the trainer is done. You can also go to group training saturday classes for free there after.
Our approach has worked for all our dogs EXCEPT for newest girl. I have met my match with her.

We have been more into training with leash corrections and rewarding with a toy.. not food .. not treats. Most of it though is in the leash corrections.

So here is the situation. Bella will be 6 months old next week. She does know some basic obedience commands that we have used since a pup. Rewarding with kibble. We feel it is ok to reward with kibble if it is a pup. However my trainer doesnt believe in using food and treats for training. Bella responds great commands with her kibble while not on a leash.

Then we put the leash on her. Which doesnt bother her. She is not afraid of the leash. BUT once we start doing any sort of training with her. We use the lightest of corrections and she cowers.. and lays down and sometimes runs and hides. Sometimes she will hide behind me if my husband is training her. I was thinking that maybe his corrections were too harsh on her. So now she is afraid of the leash corrections. She seems to have lost all confidence in training circumstances.