Crate training question - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-04-2008, 10:30 PM Thread Starter

Crate training question

How old would the puppy/dog have to be before they can be crated for 9-10 hours a day?

Due to work schedules it will be difficult to let them out during the day. We will have someone to help during part of the summer but thats it.

I also feel it may not be fair to the pup/dog to be crated that long during the day then at night.

Please let me know any advice or your thoughts on the issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-05-2008, 02:50 AM

Re: Crate training question

I am by no means an expert, and have no experience at all yet, but I would say probably never.

Aaron (me)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
("Rye-Koh")

post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-05-2008, 07:49 AM
Master Member

I hate to say this, but if I had to keep my dog crated all day for 9-10 hours, then again all night, I would not get a dog. It's just not fair to him/her. If all they get is a couple hours in the evening and maybe a short time out in the morning, to get all their exercise, freedom, meals, playtime, etc, I just don't see the point in getting one. I don't want to sound harsh, but that would just be a miserable existence for a dog IMHO. I'd wait til you have more time/better schedule.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-05-2008, 07:58 AM
Banned

6 months or so. There are pens you can get that can go in a spare room or basement. By that age he should be able to spend the nights in your bedroom with you.

Is it your goal to crate while away then allow the run of the house when home?

It`s going to take dedication and commitment to make sure he gets the time commitment and exercise he needs, but it can be done. 10 hours consistantly is a bit much.
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-05-2008, 08:10 AM