I'm sure there are a million topics on this - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-27-2008, 01:12 AM Thread Starter

I'm sure there are a million topics on this

However I felt I wanted to start my own. I have never owned a pure breed dog. I've always ended up with "pound puppies" of sorts or just dogs that have simply found me for lack of a better phrase.

Anyhow, while at Petsmart someone simply walked in and dropped off two beautiful German Shepherds. The female looked like skin and bones (and just had puppies) and the male was out of control. Nobody wanted to take these dogs, nobody even wanted to look at them.

So I took them to a GSD rescue not too far from where I live. Anyway, during the drive I got pretty attached to the puppies. I ended up bringing one back with me a little female a named Pandora.

My question is about e-collar training and I don't know if this is the right section or not as it is my first time here. I have used strictly positive reinforcement so far and the puppy is now 6 months old. I feel like my trainers are simply close minded. I asked about a prong collar and was told it would turn my dog mean and that no respectable dog owner would put their dog through that and I found it a bit harsh considering how many professionals have used them for years.

Against their judgement I bought an e collars. I however, have not used it. I have ordered a few DVDs on the how to of e collar training and I want to make sure i'm not going to be going backwards with my dog.

It's not that I havent tried using positive reinforcement. She has learned a lot but it's not as solid as I would like and from what i've read an e-collar can greatly help with proofing everything.

All I really want is a reliable recall and her to walk nicely on a leash. She does fine in front of my house but as soon as we go out more in public to the park or pet store it's another story.