House breaking - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By tim_s_adams
  • 2 Post By Daniel93

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 08:59 AM Thread Starter

Guys, I am new to having a puppy this young. The only other dog my family has had we got when she was 4 months old and house breaking was not difficult.

I just realized that our 8 week old GSD has been tricking us.....

We have been taking her out every hour and she squats to urinate every time she goes out. We would praise her and treat her each time she did it.

But then she would go back inside and have an accident. We could not really understand how she had accidents when she just went.

But then we realized she was squatting but not urinating everytime.

I guess we inadvertently trained her to squat everytime she goes outside but she did not make the connection to having to urinate.

In fact looking back at it, sometime she would squat twice during one time going out and I thought it was strange but did not put 2 and 2 together.

I guess this shows her intelligence to pull off this trick just to get treats.

We have since quit treating for using the bathroom. Or should I try to pay close attention and treat only when she urinates? That is hard because you have to inspect and I worry that by the time I determine she actually did urinate she wont make the connection to urinating and the treat.

Any advice? Thanks so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 11:52 AM
Knighted Member