Harness Recommendations? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 10:28 AM Thread Starter

Harness Recommendations?

I have a 4.5 month old Shepherd and I'm looking for some harness recommendations. I'm just using a chest harness for walks, he isn't really a puller so that isn't the issue, I just don't like how it sits on him. The bottom of the harness comes right past his chest and it seems like its putting pressure on his belly.

Just curious if anyone has anything they'd recommend, since I'm a little new to the deep chested dogs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 10:47 AM
Crowned Member

I don't normally use harnesses, but I had to use one for a while last summer when my adult dog was recovering from eye surgery. We went to a PetSense store and tried some on until we found one we liked -- I wanted one with a handle on top to be able to lift him when needed, as he wasn't allowed to jump after surgery. I *love* the harness we ended up with...but it was about $70 for a big dog. It's cushioned in all the right places, and the handle is heavy-duty.

I think you might be happiest if you go "clothes shopping" with the pup to try on some high-end options that are more than just straps. Hopefully you can find one that's adjustable to accommodate rapid growth of a pup!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 11:24 AM Thread Starter

What do you normally use instead of a harness?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 11:28 AM
Crowned Member

A collar -- a flat collar for pups, and a prong collar for grown ups (which isn't painful or mean for the dog at all, when used properly).
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 11:29 AM
Elite Member

For puppies, I like to use simple martingale collars.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 11:41 AM
Elite Member