• 1 Post By Kyrielle
  • 1 Post By dogbyte
  • 4 Post By Cassidy's Mom
  • 2 Post By onyx'girl

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2017, 01:58 AM Thread Starter
Master Member

Where does obedience stem from

I am a novice at best. I am doing best to understand motivation. I am doing my best to understand how to get obedience. Where does obedience come from? Bond and true understanding? What turns a pup to an obedient dog.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2017, 03:01 AM
Master Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex1 View Post
I am a novice at best. I am doing best to understand motivation. I am doing my best to understand how to get obedience. Where does obedience come from? Bond and true understanding? What turns a pup to an obedient dog.
How has your training been? Treats? Praise? Toy?

I think positive attitude is a big factor. They will be obedient because they know good will come of it. This is one of the reasons you never call a dog to "come" to punish

At home, I don't treat for "sit/ stay" often, but I do give a little praise. Unless I'm actually training for commands, just everyday walking around and needing my pup to sit down so I can get by is not treat worthy