New To Crate Training - Seeking Input - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 4Likes
  • 3 Post By dogma13
  • 1 Post By Ikigai

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 01:31 PM Thread Starter

New To Crate Training - Seeking Input

Hello all,

My family recently brought an 8 week old puppy into our home, it is magnificent. Crate training is not so much. As I've never done this before, I'm not sure whats normal and googling gets me results all over the spectrum (Crate train in 48 hours! Crate training may take weeks!), and I'd just feel better with some input from anyone willing to share their expertise, experience, etc.

We've had our puppy since 8/19/2017. The first night home after our exhausting day to get her we put her in the crate at night (yes we know this was a terrible awful mistake now!), which ended up disastrously.

Fast forward to now (8/23/2017) and we've been moving at a slower pace, following some instructions from various websites online about how to get the pup properly acclimated to the crate and being inside it. At this point she eats her meals in there, with the crate door locked, and has no problems. When she is done eating she doesn't whine to get out, although she is eager to leave as evidenced by her pawing at the door. She will go inside the crate willingly throughout the day as she has some good chew toys in there, and will go in there when prompted by me by patting on the crate mat and providing some encouragement (sometimes treats).

But, outside of the time it takes her to eat a meal, she appears to detest spending anymore than a few seconds inside the crate with the door latched. If the door is unlatched and she has chosen to be in there, she'll stay for as long as she entertains herself in there.

Is this progression normal, abnormal, no way to tell?

I'm concerned that A) She can't be crate trained and B) I'll traumatize her permanently somehow by doing it wrong.

Assurances, advice, anything welcome.
Sponsored Links