My puppy eats her poops - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 12:01 PM Thread Starter

My puppy eats her poops

Hello, my puppy eats her poops and pees and poops inside the house... So today I Saw her eating her poop. I took her and beat her butt then she decided not to come to me anymore she is 10 weeks ... Help plz!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 12:07 PM

Don't beat her for it, you're doing more harm than good! I'm not an expert by any means but some dogs eat their own poop as a natural defense mechanism. By eating(removing) the poop, in their mind they are protecting themselves from predators finding them in their home environment. This was how it was explained to me...

There are several threads on the subject, just do a quick search for the right keywords and you should be set!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 12:10 PM
Crowned Member

Firstly, she's a little baby at 10 weeks old. You can't expect her to know wrong from right and beating her doesn't solve anything but hurt her and make her scared of you

If she's eating her own poop, clean it up right away. Carry a bag with you even if it's in the backyard and once she's done bag it and throw it into a garbage can

As for the house training, she needs to go out at least once a hour until she gets the idea that going outside is where she needs to go. Walk her around and as soon as she goes she gets huge party thrown with lots of praise and treats. If she has a accident in the house and you don't see her, simply clean it up, it's your fault for not watching her close enough. You can use a crate or xpen when she's not being watched, or use a leash to keep her with you so you can watch her. It's a good way to learn the dog's signals and you can run her outside before accidents happen.