Training Stay - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-02-2011, 11:15 PM Thread Starter

Training Stay

So I've watched videos saying that first you work on duration and then distance. I can get my puppy to stay for about a minute between a treat, but she doesn't understand the hand signal (or command) for stay or free at all yet. Do I wait till she understands those commands, before I go for distance? Do I still need a longer duration? I know this is a very amateur question, but I just feel like I'm screwing this simple trick up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2011, 03:32 AM

Hi I'm not very experienced with puppies, so I won't be giving advise about that. But for other that can help you, it's a good thing to include the age of your puppy and how long you have been training these commands with it

Feel free to add me on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2011, 07:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiffany05 View Post
So I've watched videos saying that first you work on duration and then distance. I can get my puppy to stay for about a minute between a treat, but she doesn't understand the hand signal (or command) for stay or free at all yet. Do I wait till she understands those commands, before I go for distance? Do I still need a longer duration? I know this is a very amateur question, but I just feel like I'm screwing this simple trick up.
Why do you think she doesn't know the command "stay" if she is staying for a minute? Can you break down exactly what you are doing (what you say, what hand movements you make and where you are standing relative to your dog)? I think it will help others know what you are doing wrong in order to tell you how to fix it.

Jamie