Breeding advice please. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-25-2014, 11:23 AM Thread Starter

Breeding advice please.

Hi eveyone I am a novice on breeding and just looking for advice on the whole process as I am planning on breeding my dog once before spaying her. Also could anyone here recommend on a good whelping box ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-26-2014, 04:38 PM
Elite Member

Without knowing anything more about you or your dog than what's in that post, here are my thoughts: So You’re Thinking About Breeding Your Dog! | Team Unruly

tl;dr: If the only reason you want to breed your dog "once before spaying" is because you think that is somehow necessary for her health or fulfillment, don't do it.

ARCHMX TDCH Pongu the Insane, CD-C, RE, RL1X6, RL2X5, RL3X2 (GSD mix, b. Apr 2010)
Crookytail the Tigerwuff, RL1, ITD (Akita mix, b. Jan 2011)
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-26-2014, 05:30 PM
Crowned Member

I would want to know a lot more about your bitch's attributes. That's kinda what people really in to producing dogs for anything but money or mythology look at. Things like titles earned in competition or show rings, health certs, etc.

If you wish her to remain intact longer for health concerns (that's why mine are being kept intact longer) it isn't that hard to do without breeding.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-26-2014, 05:53 PM
The Agility Rocks! Moderator

Since we see so many hundreds of beautiful 100% purebred dogs put up her that need out of kill shelters.... we tend to really support a 'responsible' breeder and all the years of knowledge and experience that goes into it. Only way to make sure to not contribute to the shelters/rescues. I certainly know that after 5 dogs and never breeding, I will continue to NEVER breed

This is what we mean by 'responsible' breeding --> https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...ind-puppy.html

Good luck!