I need a foundation bitch. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-18-2013, 10:48 AM Thread Starter

I need a foundation bitch.

I have found what I believe to be a very reputable breeder. I studied a great deal to prepare for a new puppy. Finding a good breeder was to make sure the I got a German Shepherd that could be a champion. The studying was to make sure I was worthy and able to take it to it's full potential. The breeder suggested that if I'm going to breed, my first GSD should be the best bitch I can afford and should be at least 6 months old. Now to the point. This is what I have so far:

I am looking for a foundation bitch to start my breeding program.
The successful candidate will:
1. be at least 6 months of age
2. have received all immunizations
3. have preliminary hip and elbow x-rays completed and evaluated
4. conform to the breed standard defined by the GSDCA
Successful candidates need not have achieved title recognition but must demonstrate upon inspection the potential to do so.

What have I left out? Am I expecting too much?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-18-2013, 10:51 AM
Crowned Member

lots of money to travel, show and pay handlers to get points on teh dog since it looks like you are heading to the AKC show ring.

Lee

Hexe Sch2, Komet & Kougar IPO1, Kira HGH, SG Bengal, Lynx v Wolfstraum ~ Ziberia IPO1 ~ ATB Basha, Kougar & Kyra, Fenja, Sch3s, Cito, Sch2, DangerRH, Csabre & Alice Sch1s ~Kelsey
wolfstraum.net
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-18-2013, 10:56 AM Thread Starter

I'm not concerned now with the details of showing and titling. I've already examined that and I think I have a pretty good idea of what to expect. I'm just trying to figure out how to find the right bitch and why anyone would be willing to sell her.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-18-2013, 11:10 AM
Banned

It depends on how much you want to spend...