What lines to breed to my male? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 82 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 03:26 PM Thread Starter

What lines to breed to my male?

Ok now before this starts a huge lecture/debate, let me start by saying I am not in any position right now to start breeding GSDs. It will be several years before I have the proper facilities, land, etc. BUT, I'm a serial hobbyist and like to learn as much as I can about everything I do, and I always make it a point to be one of the best at anything I take up!

My male is only 5 1/2 months old right now, he starts obedience and schutzhund in January. I don't know his lines because I have not yet received his papers in the mail. I also haven't had him x-rayed yet because the vet said for the sake of only having to do it once lets wait until he's full grown.

So, for the purpose of this thread: let's assume his hips/elbows/and health screening all check out, lets assume he is from german working lines (months of researching has led me to this conclusion but, I will see for sure when we get the papers,) and lastly let's assume he excels and I title him in a couple of things over the next few years.

IF he turns out to be breeding material, and I will be checking with various clubs and the schutz people I'm seeing on there opinion of this, then I will be in the market for a high quality bitch. She will come into our home first and foremost as a companion/working dog. But I plan to buy an adult female, titled, breed-worthy, etc. So that being the case, what kind of lines are a good match for a german working type dog. Rambo has high prey drive, and high pack drive, good nerve, and I want to maintain these attributes.

I'm very, very interested in the czech lines, but would these likely be a good match? Let me know your opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 82 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 03:38 PM
Master Member

Michael