Is it better to start with a puppy or a trained dog? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
View Poll Results: Is it better to start with a trained dog, or a green dog for competitions?
Trained dog (explain) 3 8.11%
Green dog/puppy (explain) 16 43.24%
It depends. 18 48.65%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:10 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Is it better to start with a puppy or a trained dog?

For competitions and the like. Is it better to get a trained dog and do competitions such as agility, obedience, and schutzhund, or is it better to start with a puppy or young/green dog and train it yourself, learning with it?

I'm on the fence. Let me know what you guys think.

Viking vom Zeder-Kamme (11/19/2011)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:16 PM

I have no experience with competing...but I imagine that the best part would be the relationship that is built through training the dog yourself. I also think that the accomplishment of training a dog is pretty awesome, especially if you reach a competition level.

Gracie - GSD - May 3, 2011
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:17 PM
Crowned Member

I think both ways are fine. I like a clean slate, but surely could have learned from a dog that already knew the drills.

IMO, the dog is only a part of the team. And if you are new to a sport, the trainer you select is key in how you and the dog gel....regardless of experience on either end of the line. I'm glad I started with a puppy, because I absolutely love puppies. Some people aren't tolerant of that stage and just want a dog to work...green dog is better for them. It all depends on what your goals are and what you really want individually.

Jane~
Kept by
Gambit zu Treuen Handen

Guinness auf der Marquis...Karlo son!

Always in my heart
Karlo aka Gideon vom Wildhaus