Who goes bike riding with their dogs? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Banned

Who goes bike riding with their dogs?

It's so much fun to bike ride with Indra. So much energy, she's a puller.

Who else is bikeriding with their dog?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 12:05 PM
Banned

I have considered it but if Abby saw a squirrel ......
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 12:13 PM
Knighted Member

I started riding the bike with my dogs back in 2006. Believe it or not all 3 are pretty good together. Since the ticks are so bad, I have been staying out of the trails and walking the roads instead. As soon as we get a frost we'll be back on the trails with the bike, give my poor knee a break.

Carolyn
Lakota - WGSD 1/13/10
Wolfen - WGSD 12/31/14
Bull -WGSD 2-10-10
💔
Apache - Shiloh Shepherd 12/15/02 - 6/9/15
Kiya - Shiloh Shepherd 5/15/04 -12/19/25

Last edited by kiya; 11-29-2012 at 10:16 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 12:17 PM
Elite Member

Sasha loves it when we go bike riding! It's the only time she gets to jog since her mamma can't jog or run. Now that it's finally getting cool I anticipate a daily bike ride will be happening.

PaddyD: You may be surprised. Sasha is always really interested in other critters when we walk, but so far (knock on wood) she doesn't seem phased by them when we're riding. I use a prong when we bike ride to give me a little bit better control of getting her attention if need be, but so far I've never had to. When we first started she did try to cut in front of the bike once or twice, but I now use a shorter leash and all is fine

~Sasha~{GSD}~ 3ish~Gotcha day January, 29, 2011
~Monte~{Golden Retriever}~ (RIP)~ 1997-2009

post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 12:27 PM
Elite Member