I am new to showing and need some tips, help - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-21-2008, 05:08 PM Thread Starter

I am new to showing and need some tips, help

I'm really new to showing gsd. Showing period. I am not new to gsd. i've had them all my life and been around them since i was first born. I've always wanted to show my gsd. But she is a nevous reck out of the house and her cnformation is horrible. I finally have a gsd who is good show quality. Her dad has a sch. 3 and a vd or dv(??). Any tips for me? Cause i could use some help. Any opinions, warnings or tips. What are the basics, rules and such. she is akc registered.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 12:02 PM Thread Starter

Re: I am new to showing and need some tips, help

pllllease
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-27-2008, 02:56 AM
Crowned Member

i did the dog show gig for a long time when i was younger and wound up wondering why anyone would want to spend money on someone else's opinion of their dog. unless you can afford to hire a professional handler you are going to spend lots of money for a few ribbons and they most probably won't be blue. my opinion here (and it is jmho), is love your dogs and don't bother getting into the world of dog shows. too expensive and too political. again, JMHO.

mom to the cashman
the rescues...jeni-take-a-ride, and the c-monster
shangri la's seraphina blue (RIP 8/1/15)
hearthside's cinderfella (RIP 4/20/09)
shep von bellefontaine (RIP 6/9/10)
cricket (african grey RIP 7/13)
voodoo lily (dsh RIP 8/15)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-29-2008, 06:42 PM
Master Member