Showing Rushie -- puppy match -- embarassing - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2008, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Showing Rushie -- puppy match -- embarassing

Last weekend I took my 1/2 German boy out to a puppy match at a club picnic. Yes, this was a specialty and I did not expect Rushie to do good (mostly American bred dogs there). I am a novice, and he at nearly two and a half has never been in a conformation ring. I did not groom him specifically for this either, and since my brother has longer legs, I made him take him in the ring.

Sounds disasterous, well, it was. My brother has never shown dogs either -- he has shown rabbits and horses, so I figured he knew as much if not more than me about it.

Perfect is in heaven and it wouldn't have been so bad if half way through, I noticed that Rush's tail was bent under him between his legs. He left it there too, until he started walking again.

I mentioned it to my brother when we were driving home. He said the dog was fine until the judge came up and inspected his parts. It never dawned on me that that could be traumatic.

If I ever choose to show again, at least a boy, I will start the little booger out at eight weeks having that once over by the judge.

Odie, Joy-Joy
Bear Cub, Hepsi-Pepsi
Cujo2, Karma Chameleon
Ramona the Pest, Kojak -- who loves you baby?
Tiny Tinnie, Susie's Uzzi, Kaiah -- The Baby Monster.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 01:40 AM
Crowned Member

Send a message via AIM to EastGSD
Re: Showing Rushie -- puppy match -- embarassing

LOl Im so sorry Selzer......oh the things no one thinks to tell people! lol Yes, it is very common when you are raising a male puppy that will be shown in conformation that when you practice stacking you will reach down and check out his berries I would imagine this would shock a dog not used to it.....oh if we could only hear his thoughts lol