BIS Manhattan 1987 - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-04-2018, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

BIS Manhattan 1987

I had never seen Manhattan, who took Best in Show at Westminister in 1987, in anything other than still photos before.

Here he is being gaited to victory by Jimmy Moses!

I know he's not the perfect dog conformation-wise, but he sure was a handsome boy!

https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...ow%20Manhattan

Maybe Carmen would like to comment on his strengths/weaknesses?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-04-2018, 10:50 AM
Crowned Member

I’m no expert but I really like him. I remember watching the Westminster show on tv- I was 14.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-04-2018, 11:31 AM
Crowned Member

not bad - not ideal --- movement is loose

but - what is very important to a GSD , who by the breeds very reason to be needs to have a grip -
necessary for control of sheep if needed and for bite work -- ?

this dog has a very poor , weak lower jaw ---

can't be all fixated on side movement

did he make any impact on the "specialty" crowd ? NO

Westminster is all-breed . Specialty crowd gives a fist pump because GSD are in the public eye
generating a brief increase in interest

Other than that it was a shrug.

Carmen

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2018, 08:46 AM
Administrator & LOTR Addict

I saw Hatter in person. Super temperament, gorgeous dog, could have had a stronger head, but what stood out to me were his weak pasterns.

I also loved Mystique and was upset that she never won BIS at Westminster.
WateryTart likes this.

Lisa Clark