I can't get my GSD to lead in the ring - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Sabis mom

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 10:44 PM Thread Starter

I can't get my GSD to lead in the ring

Hi everyone. I'm new to showing and I'm learning on the fly. From my understanding when you show GSD's they should be leading out front. When I practice with him and in the one show I've put him in I can't get him to go out front, he just stays next to me in a heeling position. What have you guys done to get your GSD to lead out front? How far should the dog be in front? Thanks for any advice you can give.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 01:59 AM
Crowned Member

I would bet you worked diligently at obedience?
cloudpump likes this.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 09:27 AM
Crowned Member

Kind of a unique problem......based on all the stories you read of people struggling with forging dogs.....I know I spent some time getting a proper heel established.

I allowed my dog to lead at times as a reward for proper heeling.....taking advantage of lures ahead of us in the beginning.....dog was released from heel per verbal command...took the lead naturally.....both the beginning and ending of her lead were marked clearly.... I have no idea how the process is accomplished by the conformation handlers...since I have never handled a dog in the show ring.

SuperG

Hündin 32CACT, 2334CSAT, 2016 GAA 2.85
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 09:38 AM

Here's something I wrote in another thread about getting your dog to pull out:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogfaeries View Post