stacking, and conformation; what exactly is this ? why is this important to gsd? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2012, 08:27 PM Thread Starter

stacking, and conformation; what exactly is this ? why is this important to gsd?

I'm new to dogs in general. What is this for ? What is this checking for ? if you have photos of a good stack and a bad one can I see it ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2012, 08:39 PM
The Agility Rocks! Moderator

Conformation is how the dog is supposed to look in relation to the written standard, and then measured against other dogs at a trial.

Dogs are put in a stack to best show off that conformation. Most dogs stand square but for some reason our GSD's are stretched out in the rear with one leg under them and one stretched out.

From https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...king-help.html

Getting them into the position

Miss Osin Blue Wildhaus NA NAJ NF

"Nothing new can come into your life unless you are grateful for what you already have. ~ "--- Michael Bernhard, gratitude
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2012, 08:59 PM
Banned

The reason conformation is so important, no matter what folks say, is that in order to the the jobs they were bred to do, their conformation must be present and accurate or they'll have issues working, either tiring too quickly or not having the stamina to do a good job.

When you hear folks say "oh, we don't care if our dog is pretty", don't buy it. Be aware that if their conformation is all over the place, they won't have the grace and ease of movement they would if their conformation was somewhat similar to the "standard".
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2012, 09:33 PM
"I like Daffy" Moderator