Working dog-friendly AKC conformation judges? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Working dog-friendly AKC conformation judges?

So I've been encouraged by my breeder and some other folks to get my WL pup in the AKC conformation ring, just for kicks. Does anyone know which judges are friendly toward working dogs? I know Phyllis Dobbs, who lives near me, has been showing her T-Rex von Kriegerhaus in AKC with some success. I checked infodog on the judges that put him up, and none are going to be in my area anytime soon.

In particular, does anyone know Robert J. Whitney or Roberta A. Kindy? They are judging in October in a local show.

For the record, I'm not expecting to win with this bitch--I just love seeing working dogs (of any breed) in the conformation ring. I'm totally new to conformation, and I have this goofy 8 month old puppy who thinks stacking is an invitation to play, so I will at least need a judge with a sense of humor.

We've taken a few conformation classes which have been a comedy of errors. In the future I'll be getting some tips from a handler. She shows Irish Wolfhounds, but at least she can help me get familiarized with what to expect in the show ring.

I need to take a current stacked photo, but here is one I took a couple months ago...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 07:50 PM

I have zero experience with the topic, but I just wanted to say that she's beautiful!

Luna: GSD puppy rescue
Niki: 12 yo Shih tzu/ lhasa apso mix
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 08:03 PM
Crowned Member

when you go into the ring you shouldn't be going for the kicks -- it gets very expensive , and if your dog gets put back because of handling errors , not presenting your dog in the best light , or the dog acting the fool from inexperience , then a reputation follows you.