Need some advice on our 5 month old GSD's hips - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 10:53 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation Need some advice on our 5 month old GSD's hips

Hi, I'm new to the breed and adopted my first GSD Mia a few months ago. She is now 5 months old and during our last 2 visits to the vet she expressed concern about Mia's hips. At first she thought that the issues looked neurological but being that she is so young said that that would very rare. So now the vet wants to do X-rays when we get her spayed (which we agreed to), but we would just like to get some other opinions as well. She never appears to be in any pain walking or running or getting up, but she is definitely still quite wobbly at times. Sometimes she almost looks "drunk" (as the vet described it) when she is walking. She does sometimes drag her bag toes and seems to push off her left hind leg a bit more (sometimes more noticeable than others). Her back toenails have never bled or anything like that though and we take her for 1-2 walks daily as well as playing in the back yard or the dog park. Just wondering if this is just puppy awkwardness and she just needs time to grow into her body or if we should really be worried. I just hope my girl is going to be okay! I'm going to add the links to the videos of her running/walking as soon as it will let me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 11:07 PM Thread Starter

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 11:34 PM