14 week old puppy hip extention concern! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 08:23 AM Thread Starter

14 week old puppy hip extention concern!

Hi there

I have a female gsd, 14 weeks old. She's a lovely dog and has no problems. However at recent vet visits for her vaccinations, the vet tested her joints etc for any problems. He seems to be concerned about her hips. She can fully extend them, but she is reluctant to do so. He says they feel tight. He has done this at 3 different visits now and each time she is less bothered by it, but he is still concerned, but reluctant to test further until she is 6 months.

She is more than capable of running and jumping about, using stairs, jumping on the sofa and shows no signs of pain or discomfort! She walks normal and the only thing that worries me is what the vet is saying!

I have no knowledge of HD and obvious this has worried me a great deal.

Any advise would be gratefully appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 09:20 AM
Crowned Member

"She can fully extend them, but she is reluctant to do so. He says they feel tight. He has done this at 3 different visits now "

don't let the vet do this . Is he expert at this ? Is this some ham fisted pulling out of range of normal motion that may harm young ligaments ?

"She is more than capable of running and jumping about, using stairs, jumping on the sofa and shows no signs of pain or discomfort! She walks normal and the only thing that worries me is what the vet is saying!"

You seem to have no reason to be concerned. At some point , when YOU choose , you may want to do an x ray .
Send it off to ofa for an opinion. Not every vet can do a good x ray and not every vet can offer a good opinion.

Feed the dog well. Don't do over do exercise at this age .
Don't get pressured or frightened into doing some procedure which may not even be necessary.

worry not, go and enjoy your pup.