OFA Hips - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 07:03 PM Thread Starter

OFA Hips

I was wondering if anyone here knows about OFA hips, I had Xrays done on Sam today and had them give me a copy of the Xray and I dont know how to read them or what they show. The vet said that the results should be back in about 2 weeks but I'd like to see what others think,. this is the first time I've had this done and I'm not good at comparing them to the ones on the OFA site. HELP!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 07:37 PM
Crowned Member

I have no experience but from what I learned from this video he looks to be positioned good. I'm sure you will get opinions

https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...ng-x-rays.html
post #3 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 07:55 PM
Crowned Member

The balls look like they're starting to deform and they don't look too snug in the sockets either. I'd guess mild HD... maybe fair at best.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucy Dog View Post
The balls look like they're starting to deform and they don't look too snug in the sockets either. I'd guess mild HD... maybe fair at best.
Oh god I was hoping for at least a Fair, both her parents have Good hips, and we were really careful about what she gets fed and not ever over-exercised, etc.... it would be terrible if she didn't pass.
post #5 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 08:10 PM
Crowned Member

What did your vet think of the x-rays?

The hips really don't look terrible. He might never even show symptoms. I'd be proactive with glucosamine and supplementing starting now though.
post #6 of 45 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 08:14 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucy Dog View Post
What did your vet think of the x-rays?