Itchy skin / coarse fur / Constantly sleeping / Outside issues? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-12-2018, 09:48 PM Thread Starter

Itchy skin / coarse fur / Constantly sleeping / Outside issues?

Hey guys!
This is my first time on any kind of forum for my eight year old, Clue!

The thing is, as of the last few months or so, she's been acting super weird about going outside on a regular basis. Around November-2018 she would act all excited to go out, and when I open the door she'd take off the other way and run into our bedroom and lay on her bed.

It was between that and sticking her head out the door ( just enough to see the fence) and look at me like "What am I s'posed to do with this?" Since then, I've tried a bunch of different methods to get her to go outside and while they work in the moment, they are not long time solutions.. I would offer her cookies each time she'd go outside, but then she was learning that she ONLY wants to go out if cookies are involved (which isn't good for potty time or diets) so I stopped that, and I've always gone outside with her and made a game of it-- Fetch or a short walk. She's ecstatic about the walks, just not the normal yard shenanigans.
If I grab the leash, its like YES ADVENTURES.

Now, in March / April area it was warming up so I was thinking the cooler weather was hard on her arthritis..but still no luck instead now she doesn't even get up when I call her when she KNOWS I'm making her go outside. I've made it a habit all her life to call her for various reasons..brushing, pets, loves, treats...and I even tried to get her all excited about going outside..to be met with her GETTING Excited and then realizing I'm taking her outside..then she runs off and hides.