Dementia - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2015, 11:33 AM Thread Starter

Dementia

Hi my old girl Chloe was diagnosed with dementia. Sometimes she is normal (well as normal as Chloe can be )other days she comes back in the house and poops. She has started to eat Yackys' poop. Chloe will also just stand and look lost. The rest of her being is fine. She is East German and I'm wondering if anyone else has been down this road. I could really use some advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2015, 04:34 PM
Crowned Member

Hello, sorry you are going through this with Chloe. How old is she? I have no knowledge, with dog dementia, but maybe someone else can chime in here. Good luck.

"There is a lot to be thankful for if you take the time to look. Example.. I am sitting here thinking how nice it is that wrinkles don't hurt!". Author Unknown

Enjoy
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2015, 07:39 PM
Master Member

Hi. My 13 yr old GSD Jake had senility/dementia. He past away very peacefully May, 2014. Jake did the poop thing too. He didn't even know that the poop was coming out of him.
He sometimes appeared to be confused and around 4pm everyday he would start pacing and continued pacing all night long.
I finally called the vet and he prescribed a sedative. It helped Jake to rest and sleep.
In elderly people that type of pacing at night is called "sundowning."
The vet said it's called the same thing in elderly dogs.
My advice is to spoil your Chloe. Lots of special attention and awesome treats. Everything she loves. I'll bet she already gets all that and more ( :
Good luck and take care.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2015, 08:35 PM
Master Member