Extremely Watery Eyes/Allergies - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-17-2013, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Extremely Watery Eyes/Allergies

Hi, this is my first time here and am glad to be.

My girl, Footprints, is 8.5 years old. She is a gsd. She has had watery eyes for about a year now, I believe she has allergies but from what, I am not sure. We took her to the vet for this issue in May of 2012. They did a Fluorescein stain, a schirmer test and a Tonometry test. All of these results came back normal. At that time, the vet said she has allergies and gave me ointment to put in her eyes (which is very difficult to do) and prescribed benedryl 75mg every 6 hrs or as needed. This seemed to help a little but did not cure the excessive watering.

She now has a sore on the outside corner of her right eyelid from her eyes constantly watering. The other eye waters the same but for some reason, does not have any sores. She paws at her eyes which doesn't help. We tried having her wear a large dog cone/collar for several weeks with a short break from it now and then but that also didn't seem to do anything except make her miserable.

We recently took her back to the vet for same issue and were given eyedrops instead of ointment to help with the inflammation and irritation. She has an appt March 27th to get stitches for the sore so it will hopefully start to heal and close up.

She does not have cataracts and from what I can tell, she stills sees perfectly fine. She is still in very good health aside from getting up from sleeping a tad slower nowadays.