Imprinting puppies with SAR in mind - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2015, 04:24 PM Thread Starter

Wink Imprinting puppies with SAR in mind

Are there any breeders or owners of SAR dogs/puppies who imprint pups on a target scent? If so; would you mind briefly sharing your method and why you use the one you do? I've seen a lot of success with a couple different methods but I am trying to learn as much as I can as I am still quite new to this.

When do you begin imprinting? Do you use a clicker with it? Do you offer constant exposure? Why do you do it the specific way you do?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2015, 04:49 PM
Zombie Queen Moderator

Will be interesting to see what you find. Mine was tested with cadaver at a young age to check for aversion (he tried to eat it). But I did not begin imprinting until I got him as a pup at which point I started immediately.

I have heard of some folks breeding dogs for specific purposes imprinting while on the mothers teat by associating the target odor with feeding but it would be pretty hard to dedicate a litter to a specific odor.

Nancy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-NAPWDA Certified Cadaver Dog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Partner in Crime
Waiting at the Bridge: Grim (NAPWDA), Cyra, Toby, Oscar, Linus, Rainbow, Arlo, & Waggles
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2015, 05:33 PM
Elite Member

Very interesting thought... Seeming unless you are imprinting on cadaver the dog is naturally being imprinted on humans as he is handled and loved... I've heard that dogs that love to roll in smelly stuff (like the stinkiest ever) should be good at HRD... If that's so, my girl (and boy) should end up being phenomenal, lol! Keep us posted on your progress.. I'm curious