SAR Advice - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-06-2014, 12:13 AM Thread Starter

SAR Advice

I am looking for help and advice regarding joining a SAR group in my local area (South MS). I have a 2 Y/O GSD male that has thus far shown me he has what it takes. I have no experience whatsoever, but raised & trained field trial Labradors for over 15 years. I read, asked tons of questions, and winged it a lot back then, and am using similar methodology now, however SAR is a far more serious endeavor and want to do the best job possible with my dog. Jagger has excellent drive and his scent work is really impressive......to me. He is finding day old blind triples hidden underground, in trees, you name it..in minutes, but I have gone about as far as I can without help. I can't seem to find anyone or group locally and would greatly appreciate any and all help with where to go, who's book and methods to study, how to find groups to join etc., as I am very serious about taking both of us as far as we can go in SAR.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-06-2014, 12:55 AM
Crowned Member

Look up SAR in your state or a nearby state and contact them. They would know if there is a group working privately near you that you could connect with.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-06-2014, 06:07 AM
Zombie Queen Moderator

Have you checked out folks in this group? Just found on a google search looks like a network of SAR teams and individuals in the state. What is he finding? "Triples?"

Home Page

Nancy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-NAPWDA Certified Cadaver Dog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Partner in Crime
Waiting at the Bridge: Grim (NAPWDA), Cyra, Toby, Oscar, Linus, Rainbow, Arlo, & Waggles
Sponsored Links
Advertisement