Ahhh Frustrated - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

Ahhh Frustrated

Richter (10 months) and I have been training with a local SAR team for 6 months now and we're working on live-find wilderness airscent. Training has been slow going and Sunday he did not have a good session. He's behind where I think he should be, yes I do know that every dog is different and so are their learning curves. The woods that we were training in had a lot of foot and other dog traffic. We needed to stop so hikers could pass a few times. I'm starting to think that he may not have what it takes. He's toy/tug motivated, not food. He's easily distracted and it's challenging to keep his focus in new areas. I had to leave early on Sunday (not because of the session) so I wasn't able to get a lot of feedback from the experienced handlers. I might be over thinking and just discouraging myself. I've heard about the high's and low's of training but wow. Due to my schedule and how it conflicts with family and friends we aren't able to do a lot of training with the search behaviors but we do get to do a lot of nosework and I am very happy with where he is there. I think I need to work on distraction proofing him especially when it comes to other dogs.

TL;DR
Do you guys have any tips on motivating a (toy/tug reward) dog so that the environmental distractions are not.

Maybe I should just heed the message in my signature

The only easy day was yesterday
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013, 05:46 PM
The "I'm not dead yet" Administrator.

How old is your dog? How long of a problem and what type if problem was it? I.e check mark, run away, scent cone, 40 acre field?

What kind of foundation work have you done with him?