opinions please (: - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-03-2013, 04:25 PM Thread Starter

opinions please (:

Good evening,
I am in the process of searching for a german shepherd puppy for SAR. I used to have a dog that was in training for it (a border collie/siberian husky) but she was EXTREMELY stubborn, and also had some "issues" that caused her to not succeed at becoming a SAR dog. I actually had to rehome her, because she was not getting along well with my other dogs. I am a certified dog trainer, and my boyfriend and I have 5 coonhounds and 1 border collie. I also have a german shepherd, but he lives at my grandparents and is their guard dog. I DID have another dog, but my parents adopted her when I moved out of their house, and I don't think they plan on ever giving her back haha. I have trained one of our coonhounds how to track and trail (a raccoon), as well as how to alert (tree) when he finds one. I have also trained my border collie in agility, where he already has a title in AKC. He was also a certified therapy dog for awhile, until we were too busy to be able to make regular visits. I hope to one day become a cop in a K9 unit (I am in school now majoring in Criminal Justice). I want to get back into SAR though, and want to get a german shepherd puppy for it. I have been looking into different lines, and I REALLY want a pup with german lines. However, I have been seeing a lot about DDR and Czech line german shepherds too. I am not sure what line/lines are best for SAR GSD's, and which aren't. I want to make sure I do ALL my research before selecting a puppy, but would like some help. Any suggestions anyone??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-03-2013, 04:33 PM
Zombie Queen Moderator