New member looking to do SAR in NC - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

New member looking to do SAR in NC

Hey gang! New member to the site. Just posted my intro here :https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...ml#post3061706

I am a former Volunteer Firefighter and since i moved to NC a few years ago i haven't had any opportunities to join a local FD because i live either in a Paid dept. district or live to far away from the firehouse to respond and actually make a truck in time. Anyway we did some very light SAR rescue work but it was always something that intrigued me, and being a big dog lover and having worked with them in the past, K9 SAR really sparks my interest.

There are 2 groups it looks like it my area. One i've heard back from and might be able to meet up with and see if they'll take me under their wing, and the other i haven't heard much from at all. We have our current dog Dakota who's just a domestic pet and family member. I wanted to get another dog about when she turns 3-4 (currently she turned 3 last month) to keep her young as i had great success with that approach in my previous dogs.
So i started looking into the SAR thing as we're about 7 months out from buying our next dog and i'm glad i did. This will give me plenty of time to start training on my own with a group that i can hopefully get in and work on MY training so i'm more prepared and focused when it comes time to do work with the dog and train the dog. I'm looking heavily into GSD's more and more for some reasons i mentioned in my intro post.