The Indication--Should I Go With This Behavior or Correct? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2011, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

The Indication--Should I Go With This Behavior or Correct?

I've been working on Medo's indication for a couple months now--we're doing a "bark."

Initially I was going to do a sit and bark, but he really seems to like to get "in my face" when he does it and has an idication to climb up on me so he is standing and barking whenever he gets the command. Sitting still and barking seems to be a real challenge for him.

Today we started "swissies" (running from me to person, gets called back to me, gives his indication, then runs back to the subject). On the indication he did the same thing he's been wanting to do in training which is estentially bark in my face lol.

I don't really mind........but he is also only like 52 pounds right now. Should I go with what is natural to him or force him for the sit?? Gonna talk to the team about it too but just wanted other opinions.

J, mom to:
- Elsa - "Da Pookins"
- Medo - "The Beast From The East"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2011, 07:34 PM
Crowned Member

He's 52 lbs already? Geesh...time flies!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2011, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

There abouts (guessing that weight lol). He was mid 40's 3 weeks ago at the vet and has definitely heffed it up a bit since then...harder and harder to carry out of the car haha.

J, mom to:
- Elsa - "Da Pookins"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2011, 07:44 AM
Zombie Queen Moderator

I am a real big believer is NOT forcuing a sit - I would definitely take what is natural to him and what he is already doing.. An in your face bark is a good thing that a lot of people want but have a hard time getting.

Nancy