Never done ipo and had a question about my dog - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Slamdunc

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 04:38 PM Thread Starter

Never done ipo and had a question about my dog

I have a MWD i adopted one month ago. She is a very high drive GSD that was trained for explosive detection and deployed once then was retired and sent to the Texas dps but she failed the drug detection training. I had an opportunity to talk to one of the Tx dps trainers and he said that she would also shut down with harsh corrections and apparently she would find the drug scent but not paw at the object. she would only sit down at the object. He said that can be common with dogs from explosives backgrounds.

So my question stems from Im not sure what she experienced on deployment and cant find that info out. Im a combat vet and had mild ptsd on returning and i dont want to do an activity that stresses her out too much.

My girl is 3.5years old and with chase a ball all day long. Ive personally had an interest in ipo but ive never done it with my previous gsds. So I dont know what to expect, but i was looking for activities to do with her.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 04:43 PM
Crowned Member

Handler sensitive is a different issue than weak nerves. My boy is handler sensitive. Harsh correction FROM ME and we can just go home. It does not affect his working ability and we're trailing for our 3 in a couple of weeks then planning on regionals.

Sooooo...go for it! Everyone has a first dog to learn from.

post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 04:45 PM
Crowned Member

Btw...in tracking, they are not allowed to touch the article but the can indicate by sitting or downing.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-11-2018, 05:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Usnavydoc View Post