New to IPO - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 11:10 AM Thread Starter

New to IPO

Hello everyone. I’m new to IPO training, and have a 12 month old German Shepherd. His line has some working titles in it, and I thought it would be good to get him started in it. He’s very obedient, but has a high drive to play outside so I have a hard time getting his attention to heel. But other than that he is pretty good with obedience training.

I have never had him trained by a professional, nor have I joined a club. Partly because I’m from southern Illinois and there doesn’t seem to be too many clubs around. But I want to join a Schutzhund or GSD club to get him started.

Just thought I’d post here to get some information from you guys! Is he too old? Are there clubs near my area? Any recommendations on what to do?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 11:53 AM
Crowned Member

No, he is not to old. Look on germanshepherddog.com for a list of USCA clubs. You can look for DVG clubs too.I'm
car2ner likes this.

post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 01:29 PM

Not too old. If he has the drives and you have the time, I'd say go for it. Even if all you earn is the BH you've learned a lot about your dog. If you two enjoy it you can keep busy with it for a long time. When you do find a club make sure it is one you enjoy hanging out at because you'll be spending a great deal of time there.
Femfa likes this.

about.me/car2ner
Patton CGC BH
Chief fetch fanatic

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 01:37 PM
Crowned Member

Not too old at all. If he has the temperament and drives, he can do it. Find a club, get him evaluated and go from there. Learn all you can with him and enjoy the journey.

T17 Working Dogs-