IPO Beginner Obedience - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 4Likes
  • 4 Post By GatorDog

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2017, 01:13 PM Thread Starter

IPO Beginner Obedience

Hi Guys

I am new to IPO, started 2 weeks ago with my 8 month old Swiss Shepherd. I just found out that the sit I have been teaching for the past 5 months is wrong, she falls down onto her back legs instead of tucking without the front legs moving. I have started working her stand and platz without the feet moving and its going well, but for the life of me I cannot even lure her into the correct sit once, never mind actually teaching it to her!

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I have see videos where people build little boxes or just use pieces of wood where the front paws need to touch that, is this a good way of doing it?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 10:23 AM
Crowned Member

Welcome!

There are a thousand ways to skin a cat, and easily ten different ways to teach a sit It sounds like you are looking to teach a "tuck sit". There are different types of props, typically a type of object that is usable as a perch to teach the puppy to remain stationary with the front feet on the perch. I personally like to use the small black rubber feed pans that you can find in farm supply stores -

https://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/pr...capacity-black.