The differences between PPD and Sport dogs - As I understand it. - German Shepherd Dog Forums
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 70 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 12:22 PM Thread Starter

The differences between PPD and Sport dogs - As I understand it.

Hey all, I'm new to this whole protection dog world (sports and PPD). I'm just asking for some clarification on what I'm perceiving as the differences between the two. Some claim PPD and sport dogs are mutually exclusive (you can't have both in the same dog), and I want to make sure I'm understanding them correctly.

PPD - A dog that uses its own judgement to perceive threats and act accordingly. These dogs seem to be criticized for being on the verge of "out of control".

Sport Dog - A dog that is under strict control, doesn't make many decisions unless its commanded. These dogs seem to be criticized for being equipment focused, and won't consistently bite bad guys who aren't in a bite suit, or aren't wearing a sleeve.

Someone of a different forum indicated that a PPD typically isn't suitable to have off leash, in public playing etc. Others disagreed.

Just wondering if my interpretation is correct? Please feel free to correct or add to my understanding as you see fit. As always, a book could be written about the topic, and there's exceptions to every rule. But try to keep things "generally speaking" if possible.

I'm a long time competitive retriever trainer, and I'm diving into protection dogs head first. This is a similar debate that takes place between Field Trial Retriever trainers and Gun Dog trainers. Thanks for the feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 70 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 12:37 PM
Crowned Member

There are good dogs and then there are dogs with weaknesses which depending on what they are can affect their ability to be a PPD dog or affect their ability to be handled well in sport. They are not mutually exclusive.
post #3 of 70 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 01:33 PM