Aggression and barking - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2015, 11:01 AM Thread Starter

Aggression and barking

Hi!
I am new to IPO-training and need some answers to my questions. I have a 9 ˝ month old WL and I have been asked to come try out protection training with her. I do tracking and obedience with the already but this protecting phase had been very unknown for me.
My questions around this training is:

1. Does it increase any chance of my dog getting aggressive after training protection? I guess it will not but I want to be sure.

2. My dog pretty much never bark. She has been a very quiet puppy and I dont like her to do unnecessary barking. Maybe with age she will start barking more but will protection training somehow increase her barking?

3. How are they testing/looking at the dog if shes suitable for protection work? Mine has always had a strong preydrive, is that good or can it also be bad?

4. If you decide to starts training the protection part, how often do you have to train and can you stop it whenever you want or will it be any harm to the dog not to continue with it (many years?)? Is everything only a fun game for the dog?

Sorry for perhaps stupid question, but I want to know what I am getting into.

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2015, 11:11 AM
Crowned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nepenthexx View Post
Hi!
I am new to IPO-training and need some answers to my questions. I have a 9 ˝ month old WL and I have been asked to come try out protection training with her. I do tracking and obedience with the already but this protecting phase had been very unknown for me.
My questions around this training is:

1. Does it increase any chance of my dog getting aggressive after training protection? I guess it will not but I want to be sure.