Looking for Options/Opinions - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-25-2015, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Master Member

Looking for Options/Opinions

I feel like I have hit a wall with Cuervo's training, in a previous thread I had mentioned going to an e-collar (which is on the way) but I want to hear from others who have been in my shoes.

I'm relatively new to the sport, been active for about 3 years. When I got Cuervo, I got a little more dog than I bargined for but we compliment each other well. He's been described as a high drive, hard dog. I know there's some debate about what makes a dog hard but I had it explained to me that even the hardest corrections don't shut him down but rather make him stronger.

So here's my problem, I belong to a reward based club and it's just not working for us, he has next to zero food drive and working for a tug/ball is almost too much so we've switched to making him work for me which has cleared him up a lot. In our BH he was pushing me for a reward almost the whole time and the longer we went the more he built until control was almost borderline, so we completely revamped our training with the help of two experienced trainers. His foundation is solid, we have a great relationship BUT he still thinks it's okay to listen only when he wants so enter compulsion. It's working for us, everything has become black and white there is no more struggle in obedience or protection. I enjoy training again however some club members have expressed concern with the old school route our training is going and have mentioned that it makes them uncomfortable, he's a vocal dog so a good correction sounds like I'm murdering him.

Sorry for the novel but I'm open to suggestions on what might work for us.

Courtney M.
SG1
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, BH 07/01/2013
Sponsored Links
Advertisement