Schutzhund Training Puppy foundation! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-19-2015, 09:24 PM Thread Starter

Schutzhund Training Puppy foundation!

I am new to Schutzhund and will be getting a Schutzhund prospect puppy here in a couple months!

I have been reading a lot and had a few questions. Sorry if my questions are dumb.

I have heard a lot of people wanting their dog to portray the "hard" image (barking and not letting strangers walk up to them) is there such thing as to much socialization? Will this come out later due to the dogs pedigree no matter what foundation training is present? I don't want a dog that's really "doggy" or extremely playful I want a dog that will work and take its training serious. How do you teach this?

In the puppies foundation training what are the main things you guys suggest in obedience? Drive building? How old should serious obedience be taught?
What other things should be implemented in the first year of training?

I know nothing about the whole tracking phase? Please tell me some ways to do this.

Do you keep your working dogs outside in a kennel or in the house?

I really look forward to hearing some great input and suggestions from you all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-19-2015, 09:32 PM
Crowned Member

Find a club and a trainer.

My IPO dog sleeps in my bed. He has no issues with training.

Start obedience and tracking as a puppy. It's all pieces. You learn steps and at the end put them all together for the trial.

I want my dog to be neutral. I dont' want a reactive dog barking at people and other dogs just walking by. I don't want him to go want attention from everyone and every dog (which he does but I'll take this over the other). You teach them to focus on you. All great things come from you

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-19-2015, 09:32 PM
Master Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovethedog View Post