Training in IPO without a club/trainer - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-29-2015, 12:05 PM Thread Starter

Training in IPO without a club/trainer

This is my first post to this forum, hope I dont do anything wrong!!

I joined this forum in the hopes of getting some support from more experienced people in the sport of IPO and other protection sports. I have a year and a half old GSD bitch out of working lines. Great drive and temperament. She and I spent a lot of time working with a group on all three phases of IPO so we are not complete newbs but as far as training without a leader it is hard to know what to work on!

I made the mistake of signing a contract on this dog with a con-artist-of-a-breeder which states that I can not train with anyone except HIM. He is a terrible trainer/breeder/person and I can not bear him nor can I afford his ridiculous prices. He has already threatened to 'sue me for all I have for the rest of my life' after finding out I was working with a different club. After that I stopped training my dog...

I have decided I HAVE to work my dog. I HAVE to train her in IPO. It isnt fair to her NOT to. She LOVES it.
but I have to do it without violating this ridiculously limiting contract, by myself.

Do any of you have any advice on this? Maybe a story of a similar contractual disagreement or maybe you are too far away from any clubs and have had to go it alone?
help help HELP!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-29-2015, 12:17 PM
Banned

More than likely, contract is unenforceable. You generally can't require someone to enter a "life long" contract.

I wouldn't worry about a lawsuit.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-29-2015, 12:18 PM
Crowned Member

Talk to a lawyer. I would bet that 'clause' wouldn't hold up in court. A person can't force you to only do business with them.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-29-2015, 03:20 PM