Looking for advice on Schutzhund in Michigan - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-06-2014, 12:13 PM Thread Starter

Looking for advice on Schutzhund in Michigan

Hello everyone! I used to be a member here but I forgot my password and username long ago, so I created a new account.

I writing this because I am very interested in schutzhund. I have a 10 month old German shepherd who is not from any kind of special bloodlines. His parents were both working dogs, as in they actually lived on a farm and herded cattle and sheep, but they have no titles under their belt, nor have they ever been entered into competitions. Is it realistic to try to do schutzhund with this dog I have if he has no schutzhund in his background?
I have looked into other sports with him, but I just honestly don't have the same interest for those sports that I have for schutzhund. I have zero experience in it, so this will be my first time exploring the sport. I currently do tracking with my male, but not competitively. Its basically just a hobby I do with him, and he seems to be very good at it. However, I am so inexperienced, what do I really know? He could be terrible at it, and it could just be my perspective that he's great at it.

What I do know for a fact is that he has an extremely high drive. He has endless energy, is highly food and toy motivated, and thrives on literally any kind of activity. But I am nervous that if I try to take him to a schutzhund club, I will be laughed out of it due to my dogs lack of history in the sport. I am afraid that I will not bae taken seriously.
Should I pursue joining a club? Or do you guys think it would be too much for myself and my dog to take on? Its something I have really developed a passion to want to do, I'm just not sure how I will be received. I have had the opportunity to visit a club once, and I thought it was a lot of fun! It was obvious everyone liked and respected each other.